Names of 11 senators proposed to probe Sonko’s impeachment

Wednesday, December 9th, 2020 16:05 | By
Senate in session. Photo/PD/File

The Senate Business Committee has released 11 proposed names of members to sit in the committee that will consider the impeachement of Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko.

The proposed members are

  • Samson Cherargei (Nandi)
  •  Charles Kibiru (Kirinyaga)
  • Hargura Godana (Marsabit)
  •  Abdullahi Ali (Wajir)
  • Alice Milgo (nominated)
  • Christine Zawadi (nominated)
  •  Okongo Omogeni (Nyamira)
  • Mohammed Faki (Mombasa)
  • Judith Pareno (nominated)
  • Petronilla Were (nominated)
  • Fred Outa (Kisumu)

If the Senate approve the formation of the committee, they will investigate the charges against the governor and file a report to the House within 10 days.

Sonko is accused of failing to assent to the county budget, abuse of office and gross misconduct.

More on News