Ruto summons coalition MPs for brief

Thursday, October 27th, 2022 08:41 | By
Kenya Kwanza leaders during a past meeting in Nairobi. PPS

President William Ruto has summoned National Assembly MPs from the Kenya Kwanza coalition to deliberate on the leadership of various house committees as well as take them through various legislative proposals including the Hustler’s Fund.

Sources aware of the meeting said that during the Parliamentary Group (PG) meeting that will take place today at State House starting from 7:30am to 9:30am, Ruto will also take the opportunity to thank the lawmakers for approving his nominees to the position of cabinet secretary.

The lawmakers unanimously approved all the nominees during yesterday’s session.

On the Hustlers’ Fund, it is understood that Ruto will take members through the Fund, which is expected to be operational in December this year with the government allocating Sh50 billion annually to offer affordable credit to Medium Small Enterprises (MSMEs).

The MPs who did not want to be named, revealed they were invited for the meeting through a message from Majority Whip and South Mugirango MP Sylvanus Osoro .

“Yes we have been summoned to State House tomorrow morning (today) and the meeting is largely on the constitution of house committees, passage of various loeg8ilstive proposals as well as to thank us for approving his candidates,” said the MP who did not want to be named.

During the PG, which will be the third since Ruto was declared the winner, the MPs will be expected to endorse a list of nominees who will chair various house committees.

The endorsements come hours before the said names are tabled in the house for approval.

Committee nominees

According to the tentative order paper for today, members are set to debate and approve the list of nominees to various committees to pave the way for the election of chairs and vice chairpersons next week.

“It is notified that the following business is tentatively scheduled to appear in the Order Paper for Thursday, October 27, 2022, motion - appointment of members to committees,” reads the order paper.

Kimilili MP Didmus Barasa although remained non-committal on the matter said as MPs, they are proud of Ruto for ensuring there is unity in the coalition.

“William is a very democratic person and up to now we are still shocked as to how he is able to accommodate everyone including persons who just came into the coalition the other day,” he said.

The PG comes at a time when more than 262 members of the National Assembly have been jostling to be placed in seven committees regarded as lucrative.

Among those on demand include the Budget and Appropriations Committee (BAC), Transport and Infrastructure committee, Water and Irrigation committee, Health committee, Energy committee, Finance committee and Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

According to the standing orders every Member has the right to serve in at least one committee of the House.

In the budget and appropriations committee over 100 MPs from both sides of the divide have expressed interests to serve yet the standing orders provide that it should consist of a chairperson, and not more than 26 members.

In the transport committee, over 78 members from the Kenya Kwanza side have expressed interest for the said committee yet they have eight slots as the total membership stands at 15.

Control of committees

Despite the fight for the control of the committees, so far, the Kenya Kwanza team has fronted Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro as chair of Budget Appropriation Committee, Kimilili MP DIdmus Barasa as chair Transport and Infrastructure, Kimani Kuria (Molo) as the Finance chair and Nelson Koech (Belgut) as the Defence and Foreign Affairs chair

Others are Julius Meli (Tinderet) who will spearhead the Education Committee, Robert Pukose (Endebes) who will chair the health committee, Maara MP Kareke Mbiuki will chair the Water committee while Kwanza MP Ferdinand Wanyonyi will chair Agriculture.

Omboko Milemba (Emuhaya) will chair Labour and social welfare, Haika Mzighi (Taita Taveta county woman Rep) will chair immigration and diaspora committee, Joash Omoko (North Mugirango) will chair lands committee, Gabriel Tongoyo (Narok West) will chair Administration and National Security, Rahab Mukami (Nyeri Woman Rep) will chair Members Welfare and facilities, Samuel Chepkonga (Ainabkoi) will chair Justice and Legal affairs while Webuye West MP Dan Wanyama will chair sports.

More on News