Full list of county officials suspended by Sonko

Wednesday, September 25th, 2019 15:02 | By

Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko has suspended County Executive Committee (CEC) member for finance Charles Kerich and other 15 county officials following the Monday incident at Precious Top Talents school where eight pupils died after their classroom collapsed.

CEC member for Health Mohammed Dagane has also been suspended with immediate effect.

The county boss, who jetted back to the country on Tuesday from United States where he was attending UN meeting, had vowed to take stern measures to any of his officials who may have been involved in the ongoing investigations on the collapse.

The Monday tragedy at Precious Top Talents School in Ng'ando Ward Dagotetti claimed eight lives and left 64 other pupils injured.

The just fired county officials are the first to bear brunt of the ongoing investigations into the tragedy.

Below is the full list of the suspended officials:

1. Charles Kerich, the current County Executive Committee Member (CECM) for Finance and Economic Planning, who is the immediate former CECM for Lands and Urban Planning

2. Mohammed Dagane – CECM Health (responsible for general public health and safety)

3. Justus Kathenge, suspended County Chief Officer for Urban Planning (to continue in suspension)

4. Jusper Ndeke, Director Planning Compliance and Enforcement

5. Dominic Mutegi, Development Management Director 

6. Ochanda Ondari Fredrick, Assistant Director Enforcement

7. Ruth Waruguru, Director Urban Planning 

8. Thomas Dudi, Assistant Director Planning9. Simon Onyango, Development Officer (regularization of buildings/approval of architectural plans)

10. Alex Mucheru, Development Control (overseeing approvals of buildings and schools on behalf of public health and safety)

11. Mackline Saitera, Development Control (approval of building plans and school inspection)

12. Edna Guantai, In-charge of approval of public buildings and schools on behalf of public health

13. Joyce Kyengo, Dagoretti South Sub-County Administrator

14. Lucy Wairimu Munyika, Dagoretti South Sub-County Commander

15. Sylivia Mwikali Nthinga, Dagoretti South Sub-County Planning Officer 

16. Okal Kennedy, Ngando  Ward Administrator

More on News