U20 Barthes Trophy: Chipu squad for Zimbabwe trip named

Tuesday, April 16th, 2024 12:57 | By
Kenya’s Chipu players celebrate after scoring a try against Spain at the Nyayo National stadium last week. PD/ ALEX NJUE
Kenya Chipu celebrate after scoring a try against Spain at the Nyayo national stadium. PHOTO/Alex Njue

The Kenya U20 squad for the Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy has been named by head coach Simon Jawichre.

The squad has 28 players ahead of the competition that will take place in Harare, Zimbabwe, from April 20–28.

"Edmond Omondi captains the side that has nine returning players from the squad that did duty at the World Rugby U20 Trophy held last July in Nairobi, namely Geylord Ngasi, Andycole Omolo, Iddo Kuta, Wycliffe Ogutu, Nathan Tsindoli, Patrick Wainaina, Faran Juma, Michael Wamalwa, and James Olela.

"Also making the cut are Alvin Khavoli and Philip Okeyo, who have been standout performers in the Kenya Cup for their club sides, Menengai Oilers and Nakuru," the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) said as they confirmed the junior squad for the continental competition.

The tournament will feature four teams, including the hosts, Zimbabwe, and Kenya, who were last year's runners-up, Namibia, and Tunisia.

According to the organizers, the teams will face off in a round-robin format over three match days. The team that finishes first and wins the title will secure Africa’s berth in the 2024 World Rugby U20 Trophy, set for July 2–17 in Scotland.

Chipu will leave the country on Thursday morning before they are expected to start their campaign on Saturday, April 20, 2024. The youngsters will then take on Tunisia on Wednesday, April 24, 2024, before completing their campaign with a clash against hosts and defending champions Zimbabwe on Sunday, April 28, 2024.

Chipu provisional squad

Players: Darrel Oluoch, Ian Nyandusi, Bramwel Mate, Brian Shile, Geylord Ngasi, Hafidh Mohammed, Eugene Etali, Cleyn Okumbi, Andycole Omolo, Eddy Otieno, Iddo Kuta, Wycliffe Ogutu, Nathan Tsindoli, Willy Tino, Edmond Omondi (captain), Patrick Wainaina, Benedict Muiruri, Faran Juma, Philip Okeyo, Alvin Khavoli, Brian Kiptoo, Dennis Ndayala, Kipchirchir Bett, Elvis Otete, Eugene Ojiambo, Jackson Siketi, Michael Wamalwa, James Olela 

Management: Simon Jawichre (head coach), Philip Wamae (team manager), Samuel Ochieng (physiotherapist)

More on Sports