August 9

Matiang’i, Kibicho included in Uhuru’s Transition Committee to hand over power to next President

Wednesday, July 6th, 2022 17:29 | By
Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i and his Principal Secretary Dr Karanja Kibicho. [Photo/ Courtesy]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed a Transition Committee that will oversee the handover of power to the next President.

The list includes Joseph Kinyua, Dr. Fred Matiangi, Karanja Kibicho, Hillary Mutyambai, Gen. Robert Kibochi, National Intelligence Service (NIS) director Philip Kameru, Anne Amadi, Kinuthia Mbugua, AG Kihara Kariuki, PS Jerome Ochieng, PS Julius Muia, PS Macharia Kamau, PS Julius Korir, PS Joe Okudo, and Solicitor General Ken Ogeto.

President Uhuru Kenyatta
President Uhuru Kenyatta at a past function. PHOTO/State House/Twitter

Role of Uhuru's Transition Committee

The Assumption of the Office of the President Act No.21 of 2012 provides for the procedure and ceremony for the assumption of office of the President-Elect and establishes and constitutes the Assumption of the Office of the President Committee. The Committee is mandated under section six to facilitate the handing over process by the outgoing President to the President-elect, the provision of the security detail and security briefings to the President-Elect among other key functions.

More follows...

More on August 9