Inside Politics

Raila daughter, Kalonzo son in final EALA list

Thursday, November 10th, 2022 08:00 | By
Winnie Odinga
Winnie Odinga, the last-born daughter of opposition leader Raila Odinga, during a past campaign rally. PHOTO/Courtesy

Big political names allied to President William Ruto and Raila Odinga have been left out of the final list of candidates to sit as members of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The race for the positions gathered momentum yesterday as political parties sifted through the long list of candidates who had applied for consideration as MPs who will sit in the regional Parliament in Arusha, Tanzania.

According to the final list submitted to Parliament by the Kenya Kwanza Alliance — which the President leads — and Azimio-One Kenya Coalition — which Raila leads — names of more than 20 individuals who had applied for the positions were missing.

The Clerk of the National Assembly Samuel Njoroge, and his Senate counterpart Jeremiah Nyegenye, were the presiding officers during the selection that ended yesterday at 4pm.

United Democratic Alliance (UDA), which is in the Kenya Kwanza Coalition, submitted names of 15 candidates although 145 of its members had applied. Similarly, Azimio submitted a list of 12 individuals from a long list of 96 applicants.

Out of the nine slots up for grabs, President Ruto is facing an arduous task of knocking off ten allies from the 15 applicants who are seeking to fill the positions. Kenya Kwanza is entitled to five slots while Azimio is entitled to four. That means Azimio will have to kick out eight names out of the 12 submitted.

Interestingly, former Baringo Senator and Kanu National Chairman Gideon Moi, who was among those interested in the seat, withdrew his candidature yesterday.

Among those whose names were missing from the UDA list include former nominated MP Wilson Sossion, former Vihiga MP Yusuf Shanzu, former Nyandarua Senator Mwangi Githiomi, former Chepalungu MP Paul Bii, former Bomet East Bernard Bett, former EALA MP Simon Mbugua, former Bomet Woman Representative Florence Mutai and former Narok Deputy Governor Everlyn Aruasa.

On the Azimio’s side, those whose names are missing include Siaya senator Oburu Odinga’s son Jaoko Oburu, former Kwale Woman Representative Zuleika Hassan, former Kanduyi lawmaker Alfred Khangati, former Busia Senator Amos Wako, former Kasarani MP Elizabeth Ongoro, Raila’s Chief Agent Saitabao Ole Kanchory, former Nyakach MP Peter Odoyo and former Naivasha MP John Mututho.


Others whose names are missing and had either applied under former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party and the wiper party include former Taveta MP Naomi Shaban, her Kigumo counterpart Ruth Mwaniki, former Kajiado North MP Moses ole Sakuda former Samburu Woman Rep Maison Leshoomo, former Kiambu Town MP Jude Njomo, former Limuru MP Peter Mwathi, former nominated Senator Isaac Ngugi, former Tiaty MP Asman Kamama, former Isiolo governor candidate Hussein Tene and former minister Chirau Mwakere.

In Kanu, apart from Moi, others whose names are missing include former Baringo Woman Rep Glawell Cheruiyot, its party Secretary General Nick Salat and former ODM Elgeyo Marakwet branch chairman Micah Kigen.

With regards to the independent candidates, of all the 16 candidates who had applied Duncan Mwangi Ndegwa, made it. All the others were unable to meet the criteria for nomination.

Most of the candidates were disqualified for lacking the requisite 1,000 signatures from their constituency or 2,000 from the counties to back their nomination.

Ndegwa — a person living with disability — has unsuccessfully applied for the position three times.

And yesterday the Leader of Majority, Kimani Ichung’wa, and his minority counterpart, Opiyo Wandayi, submitted the final list of 27 names. These are the candidates who will battle it out for the nine positions.

The rule requires that in making nominations, each party shall as much as possible, take into account the need for fair representation of the various political parties in the National Assembly, regional balance, shades of opinion, gender and other special interest groups. They are also expected to uphold the one-third gender rule in their lists of nominees.

Final list

Among those in the final list submitted by Azimio were Wiper Leader Kalonzo Musyoka’s son, Kennedy Musyoka, Raila Odinga’s daughter, Winnie Odinga, Jubilee Secretary-General Jeremiah Kioni and Mombasa businessman Mohammed Shahbal.

Others who made it to the Azimio list are former Kieni MP Kanini Kega, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito Mugali and former Wajir Women Rep Fatuma Gedi.

Sources, however, said the name of Gedi was included at the eleventh hour after the name of former Kigumo MP Ruth Mwaniki was removed from the final list following the intervention of retired President Kenyatta who raised concerns over an earlier list that had been prepared by the Jubilee Party and had all the nominees coming from Mt Kenya region.

“Today I present to you 12 candidates who have been nominated by the Azimio la Umoja Coalition, seven being men and five being women,” Wandayi said.

“The candidates are drawn from various parts of the country and possess the right qualifications for the said positions.”

In UDA, Ichung’wa and Senate Majority Leader Aaron Cheruiyot submitted that names of former MP Hassan Omar, former United Republican Party (URP) Secretary-General Fredrick Muteti (Makueni), Nominated Senator David Sankok (Narok) and former Balambala MP Abdikadir Aden, former Nandi Women Rep Zipporah Kering, Nairobi lawyer Okeng’o Nyambane and former Nominated Senator Falhada Dekow.

Others are Anne Too, daughter of former Criminal Investigations Department Director Noah arap Too, politician Jonas Kuko, former Igembe Central MP Cyprian Kubai and former West Pokot Woman Rep Lilian Tomitom.

Others on the Kenya Kwanza list that will be battling to get 1 of the 5 positions available for the coalition are Rebecca Merikeju, Godfrey Maina Karobia, Yasser Ali Sheikh (Mombasa) and Salim Mohammed Busidy.

Said Ichung’wa: “The Kenya Kwanza Alliance has complied with the requirements with respect to gender and regional balance and we have forwarded to you competent candidates.”

More on Inside Politics