CJ Koome appoints new members to NCAJ’s committee on anti-corruption

Friday, September 15th, 2023 15:21 | By
Chief Justice Martha Koome.
Chief Justice Martha Koome during a past symposium. PHOTO/Courtesy

Chief Justice Martha Koome has appointed new members to the National Council on the Administration of Justice's (NCAJ) committee on anti-corruption.

In a Gazette notice dated September 15, 2023, Koome appointed Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (EACC) CEO Twalib Mbarak as the chairperson of the committee.

Other members appointed to the committee include Justice (Prof) Nixon Sifuna from the Judiciary, Thomas Nzioki Nthyaka also from the Judiciary, Amos Omuga from the National Police Service and Mohamed Adow from the Asset Recovery Agency.

"Pursuant to Article 159 (2) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010 and sections 5, 34 and 35 of the Judicial Service Act, the Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya and the Chairperson of the National Council on the Administration of Justice (NCAJ) appoints the following members to the NCAJ Committee on Anti-Corruption, for the remaining period of Committee's term," Koome stated in the notice.

Koome also revoked the appointment of Dorcas Oduor which was effected on February 18, 2022. Dorcas Oduor is the Secretary of Public Prosecutions and the Principal Deputy to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

NCAJ's mandate

NCAJ is mandated to ensure a coordinated, efficient, effective and consultative approach in the administration of justice and reform of the justice system.

It was established in August 2011 under Section 34 of the Judicial Service Act as a high-level policymaking, implementation and oversight coordinating mechanism.

Its membership is composed of state and non-state actors from the justice sector. 

More on News