Inside Politics

Anne Waiguru re-elected CoG chair

Monday, October 2nd, 2023 16:01 | By
Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru
Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru. PHOTO/@AnneWaiguru/X

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru has been re-elected as the chairperson of the Council of Governors (CoG) for a second term.

Waiguru, who was elected unopposed, will be deputized by Wajir Governor Ahmed Abdullahi.

"The CoG chair in her second term now focuses on fully devolving functions and resources, increasing revenue allocation to counties, supporting counties in improving own source revenue, successful universal healthcare roll-out, agriculture value chains development, value addition and trade," Waiguru's aide said in a statement.

Nandi Governor Stephen Sang has been elected as the Whip.

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja has left his position in the CoG committee where he was serving as the Human Resources Chairperson, a position which will be occupied by Nyeri Governor Mutahi Kahiga.

CoG Trade Chairperson Wavinya Ndeti (Machakos) has been replaced by Nakuru's Susan Kihika while Tana River's Dhadho Godana has been replaced by Baringo Governor Benjamin Cheboi as Security Committee Chairperson.

Other CoG committee members have retained their positions.

More on Inside Politics