Inside Politics

Winnie Odinga, Kennedy Kalonzo among leaders elected to EALA

Thursday, November 17th, 2022 20:18 | By
Winnie Odinga, Kennedy Kalonzo among leaders elected to EALA
Winnie Odinga. PHOTO/Courtesy.

Parliament on Thursday, November 17, 2022, voted in nine members to represent Kenya at the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The Senate and the National Assembly voted separately for the candidates before the votes were consolidated to determine who the winners were.

Kenya Kwanza Alliance was allocated five EALA slots while Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition had four slots.

Kenya Kwanza submitted 15 candidates to stand for the election in Parliament while Azimio camp submitted 12.


After all the votes from both Houses were consolidated, the nine candidates who secured the most votes from both Kenya Kwanza and Azimio included;

Kenya Kwanza:

Hassan Omar (253 votes)

Zipporah Kering (223 votes)

David Sankok (223 votes)

Mwangi Geoffrey Maina (213 votes)

Iman Falhada (174)

Charles Muteti (189 votes) and Cyprian Kubai (183 votes) got more votes than Iman Falhada but didn't make it to the EALA shortlist because of gender rule.

EALA members from Azimio include;

Kennedy Kalonzo (262 votes)

Winnie Odinga (247 votes)

Kanini Kega (197 votes)

Suleiman Shahbal (181 votes)

More on Inside Politics